Parse Some Bars: Jay-Z, “Young Forever”

1 Sep

A brief observation:

I’ll be here forever, you know I’m on my four shit
And I ain’t where foreclosure, I will never forfeit

This is from Jay-Z’s “Forever Young,” a fantastic song in whole. But these two bars are incredible. Let’s count the meanings.

  1. “You know I’m on my four shit” could hint at The Blueprint 4.
  2. Or it could be a veiled reference to Brett Favre.
  3. Or it could really be “fore shit” and be about “before shit.”
  4. And “I ain’t where foreclosure, I will never forfeit” could be an oblique housing crisis reference.
  5. Or could it be “I ain’t wear four clothes, ya, I will never four fit,” a denial of any Favre-ness?
  6. Or could it be “I ain’t wear for closure,” about how even retirement can’t dull Jay-Z?
  7. Or is it “I ain’t wear four clothes, ya, I will never forfeit,” which I can’t even come up with a meaning for?

If The Blueprint 3 does only one thing (and, of course, it doesn’t), it further’s Jay-Z’s reputation as a rhymer denser than the diamonds he uses as dynasty signs.

And I could parse his lines forever.

But it would seem like forever is a mighty long time.

Update: I know, I’m late, but there are official lyrics. And it’s:

I’ll be here forever, you know I’m on my four shit
I ain’t with foreclosure, I will never forfeit

I think I was close. And I think my interpretations stand.

5 Responses to “Parse Some Bars: Jay-Z, “Young Forever””

  1. pissed off guy February 26, 2010 at 3:29 PM #

    What a fucked up remix, it’s complete shit, completely raped the original..

  2. spiritsentient June 9, 2010 at 6:55 PM #

    I know I’m late to the party, and his new album will probably be out soon but:

    I completely agree… Jay-Z weaves so many meanings into his lines it blows my mind. I love your interpretations (some hilarious, some poignant, some just plain cool.)

    I wrote a series of articles once, as a tribute to the man’s lyrics.

    Rock on, man.

  3. Nakisha August 9, 2010 at 5:33 PM #

    Jay Z is The Best.

  4. gui September 12, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

    Jay-Z fucked up that great song. Shame on you jay-z…

Leave a comment