The Breakdown: Iyaz, “Replay”

18 Nov

Yeah, I thought this song was Sean Kingston, too. It must have been the poorly-written lyrics and baffling metaphors in an odd choice for a pop song.

Shawty’s like a melody in my head
That I can’t keep out

Now, maybe it’s me, but isn’t earworm usually bad? Why not: “Shawty’s a sweet melody in my head/That I can’t keep out?”

Got me singin’ like
Na na na na everyday
It’s like my iPod stuck on replay, replay-ay-ay-ay (2x)

I am ecstatic that this chorus is not stuck on more than two times replay.

Remember the first time we met
You was at the mall wit’ yo’ friend

This song is making me replay middle school.

I was scared to approach ya
But then you came closer
Hopin’ you would give me a chance

I have no idea how this story ends!

Who would have ever knew
That we would ever be more than friends?

Well, I know this and you haven’t even become more than friends yet. So…

We’re real worldwide, breakin’ all the rules
She like a song played again and again

Not sure how “worldwide” equals outlaw, here, but it may be because of crimes against metaphor later. And songs “played again and again” tend to lose their appeal, especially empty-calorie stuff like this.

That girl, like somethin’ off a poster

Okay, solid.

That girl, is a dime they say

Uh, “they,” Iyaz? Shouldn’t you be saying this?

That girl, is a gun to my holster

Let me say this now and forever amen: I will never ever ever get “woman is gun” metaphors. Guns are phallic objects; women are not. Women are not “dangerous” in the same way a gun is; neither are they “hot,” though I could see a “hot as a gun barrel” line. Citing the word “gun” in a love song breaks some of the idyllic fantasy. And giving your gun a female name (cough, Dwayne Carter, cough) as you praise its work speaks to some weird fetishization of gunplay that it would take a paper to explain.

So, yeah, this line is odd.

She’s runnin’ through my mind all day, ay

Why not “hummin’,” to continue the song metaphor?

(We’re skipping the chorus. It doesn’t change.)

See you been all around the globe
Not once did you leave my mind

That’s more pathetic than clever. And was the “worldwide” part of the song attached to a “we” earlier?

We talk on the phone, from night ’til the morn
Girl, you really changed my life

How? Because it just seems like you’ve gone from having no girlfriend and no song to having a girlfriend and having a song. And that’s not a huge change.

Doin’ things I never do
I’m in the kitchin cookin’ things she likes

If you can’t figure out why I was hoping this would be a Sean Kingston song for the purposes of this feature from this line, I recommend looking at this picture.

We’re real worldwide, breakin’ all the rules

Yeah, still have no idea what you mean by this.

Someday I wanna make you my wife

I also have no idea what you mean by this. Your praise for this girl is limited to: Her willingness to approach you in a mall; her resemblance to other women on posters; her “dime” status as proclaimed by a nebulous “they”; her gun-like, uh, existence; and her constant presence in your mind like a song you can’t get out of your head. (If you add the evidence from the video, she also has an aversion to clothes and an affinity for novelty sunglasses. That’s not much.)

Pardon me if I don’t see this marriage lasting forever.

(Quick-cut to bridge.)

I can be your melody
Or girl, I could write you a symphony
The one that could fill your fantasies
So come baby girl let’s sing with me
Ay, I can be your melody
Or girl, I could write you a symphony
The one that could fill your fantasies
So come baby girl let’s sing with me

I have figured out your endgame, Iyaz: Either you naturally afflict Melody-Like Girl with her own same symptoms of psychosis that you have with your charm, or you write her a song that does the same.

You’re crafty. I’ll give you that.

Ay, na na na na na na na
Na na na na na na
Shawty got me singin’
Na na na na na na na
Na na na na na na na
Now she got me singin’

Phew. I was worried we wouldn’t meet our quota for needless melodies in this entry.

If Iyaz’ “Replay” does anything exceptionally well, it is burrow. Into your head. And mine. And probably Iyaz’. And Sean Kingston’s, somewhere, cooking food for himself.

Want more Breakdowns? Click here or on the Requests tab up top to suggest a new object of scorn.

4 Responses to “The Breakdown: Iyaz, “Replay””

  1. freshlikeuhhn November 18, 2009 at 8:17 AM #

    i believe JR wrote this song for Sean Kingston but he turned it down.

    • Andy Hutchins November 18, 2009 at 11:18 AM #

      I looked at the Wikipedia (like you, I remembered the J.R. Rotem/Sean Kingston connection) and it looked like it was a jointly written song (Rotem, Jason DeRulo, others), which would lend credence to your theory.

      Obviously, it would work with Kingston, too: The voices are eerily similar.

  2. Генадий November 21, 2010 at 1:29 PM #

    Футболка Gold мама
    Футболка Котеhttp://www.vsemayk1.ru/doc/74/search/Tolstovka-Kung-fu-Panda

  3. Full Sheet Sets April 5, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

    Wonderful work! This is the kind of information that should be shared across the net. Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this put up higher! Come on over and consult with my site . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

