Lil Wayne, “Run This Town” Freestyle

26 Oct

Surprise: Wayne still has a bit of his talent.

Is this the return of the Mixtape Weezy? Metaphors and internal rhyme abound, and he sneaks in one of the better quatrains he’s spit in a while (the nimrod/hemorrhoid/employed/shin guard) and plays with a “super” construction that’s more fun than dumb.

But it’s one song. While I’m looking forward to No Ceilings, I wouldn’t expect this sort of feat to be repeated.

Lyrics:

Nigga, we are so ready for the war
C-a-r-t-e-r, put the beat in ER
I’m colder than b-r, add another three rs
Watch me like DVD, VCR
Pump to your chest, I ain’t talkin’ CPR
Ridin’ this track like a motherfuckin’ street car
New Orleans coroner, his name is Frank Minyard
Fuck wit’ me wrong, you’ll be wakin’ up in his yard
Man, I go crazy on the beat, I go nimrod
Man, I act an ass, treat the beat like a hemorrhoid
Man, I go to work on the beat, call it employed
Man, I kicks it, bitch, get your shin guard
Young Money run this: Towns, countries
I still eat rappers: Mmmm, scrumptious
My goons tote thumpers, they pop ’em like krumpers
Anybody beat, I’m gon’ go Archie Bunkers
Tunji be the wildest, let’s run the metropolis
I pop like lollies, you drop like ollies
The money keep callin’, I hear the shit dialin’
And they say money talks, you can hear my shit hollin’
You softer than nylin, oops, I meant nylon
Perfection is the goal and I’m headed to the pylon
Crown fit me good, I ain’t even got to try on
The pistol mean business, that bitch should have a tie on
Tina told me do this shit, so I had to do this shit
I get superhero money, call that nigga super rich
Keep it super for a while, let me get on my super shit
Super ill, super sick, dawg, I go super Vick
Ran into a superwoman, turned into a super bitch
Hit her with that super dick, she be comin’ super quick
Super Millz, Mack, Tyga, Streets, Nelly, Super Nick
Super Drizzie, Gudda, Chuckee, Twist, that’s the super clique
Now I’m off that super shit, fuck that shit, I super quit
Runnin’ circles ’round the game, like I Hula Hoop and shit
You gon’ have to loop this shit, that won’t be a duplicate
And my blunts be super thick, I’m higher than a super kick
I-I’m the bomb, baby, watch me nuke this shit
When I leave the booth, they gotta scoop this shit
My apologies, diabolically
I’m the prodigy, do you roger me?
I look in the flames, and see the hotter me
But how come I’m still, colder than commonly?
Yeah, we run this town, like a lot of feet
Young Moola, baby: I’m proud of me

Leave a Reply

