Jay-Z feat. Drake, “Off That”

25 Aug

Link via Nah Right. Lyrics after the jump.

Jay-Z feat. Drake, “Off That”

One of the lyrics that’s been bumping around my brain of late as I think about Jay’s Blueprint 3 was the immortal “N—as playing checkers with chess-playin’ Hov” from “Dig a Hole,” off Kingdom Come; though he hasn’t been at the cutting edge of trends for a while, Jay’s managed to stay relevant by reinventing and mastering something at a higher level than the competition, whether it’s in delivering live shows that use a live band to great effect, dipping a toe in politics without becoming political, or expanding an empire by latching onto other existing entertainment entities.

“Off That” just expands on that line. With It Dude Drake sort of spitting a hook that amounts to a list of things a little past their prime and Timbaland engineering a precise beat with rattling, whirring synths and mechanized handclaps from 2037, Jay has cornered the market on futuristic cool. He’s bragging throughout (“Cashmere sweats/They come out next year, but these my last year sweats”), of course, but touches on race relations (“This 2010, not 1864”) and the language invention of the third verse make sure that the snarl and smirk are balanced. This can bounce, race, simmer, and soundtrack a night a the club: It’s versatile, progressive rap that will sell and satisfy, answering critics’ nostalgia for the old Hov by dismissing it (well, “unless it affects your future pay,” which companion leak “Reminder” certainly does), throwing subliminals in a dozen directions, and generally being more lithe than any track from a guy with almost two decades in the game has any right to be.

Just when other rappers (Kanye, Wayne) thought they had started to approach the grandmaster, Hov got better. “Off That” is the sound of checkmate on those Star Trek boards.

Lyrics

(Jay-Z)
Welcome to the future (Blue, print, 3)
Hey, count me in
Find me a nice soft place to land (I got you Hov)
I’m so high
Find me a place to land
Yeah, right there

I’m so tomorrow that Audemars are yesterday
Which means you on time delay
So even if I slow it down
My sound is fast forward (Hold up)
I’m just a runway show
But I wear this on my plane, these my runway clothes
Cashmere sweats, they come out next year but these my last year sweats
And my ho’s so sick
Your new chick can’t fuck with my old bitch
And you know this shit
I’m professional, they novices
I just may let you borrow this
This the blueprint, nigga, follow this
This what, what tomorrow is
Welcome to tomorrow, biiiiiiih

(Drake)
Whatever you about to discover, we off that
You about to tell her you love her, we off that
Always wanna fight in the club and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back
Y’all are steady chasing the fame and we off that
Oversized clothes and chains, we off that
Niggas still makin’ it rain and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back

Tell them haters get off me
Cris, we off that
Timbs, we off that
Rims, we off that

(Jay-Z)
Yeah, we off that
Is you still on that?
And we still making money
‘Cause we still on that

This ain’t black vs. white, my nigga, we off that
Please tell Bill O’Reilly to fall back
Tell Rush Limbaugh to get off my balls
This 2010, not 1864
Ah, yeah, we’ve come so far
So I drive around town
Hardtop, linens soft
Ah, in my TriBeCa loft
With my highbrow art and my high yellow broad
Ah, and my dark-skinned sis
And my best white mates
Say what’s up to Chris
Ah, how’s that for a mix?
Got a black President, got green presidents
Blueprints in my white iPod
Black diamonds in my Jesus piece, my God
Ah, we ain’t trippin’ on that
This a Bennetton ad, nigga been up off that

Whatever you about to discover, we off that
You about to tell her you love her, we off that
Always wanna fight in the club and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back
Y’all are steady chasing the fame and we off that
Oversized clothes and chains, we off that
Niggas still makin’ it rain and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back

Tell them haters get off me
Cris, we off that
Timbs, we off that
Rims, we off that

Yeah, we off that
Is you still on that?
And we still making money
‘Cause we still on that

I don’t give a fidduck abiddout the widdeight
You used to move, what you used to do
And I don’t give a fidduck abiddout the bitches
That you used to screw, what’s your future, dude?
And we don’t really care what you used to say
Unless that affects your future pay
I’m on the practice field running two-a-days
So I don’t drop the ball when it’s threw my way
So I don’t give a fidduck abiddout the shit that
You prob’ly did, who you prob’ly is
The only time I deal in past tense
Is I’m past rims, and I’m past tints
If you drivin’ it, I drove
You got it ’cause I sold it
You copped it, I bought it back
And we don’t give a fidduck, nigga, we off that

Whatever you about to discover, we off that
You about to tell her you love her, we off that
Always wanna fight in the club and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back
Y’all are steady chasing the fame and we off that
Oversized clothes and chains, we off that
Niggas still makin’ it rain and we off that
But you can’t bring the future back

Tell them haters get off me
Cris, we off that
Timbs, we off that
Rims, we off that

Yeah, we off that
Is you still on that?
And we still making money
‘Cause we still on that

6 Responses to “Jay-Z feat. Drake, “Off That””

  1. Yvette September 3, 2009 at 6:31 AM #

    lllllllloving this one🙂

  2. D. October 1, 2009 at 5:52 PM #

    “I’m so tomorrow, the Audemars are yesterday.” Audemar Piguet is a luxury watch brand.

  3. Sam January 14, 2010 at 2:24 PM #

    Great song on a classic album. I like the analysis you put down too. In case anyone doubted (and I know many did and still do) the king is on top and his reign continues. Fall back.

  4. icould April 20, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

    “The same black vs. white” -> “This ain’t black vs. white”

    • Andy Hutchins April 20, 2010 at 3:08 PM #

      It’s close. I just listened three times and couldn’t be sure. I’m changing ’cause I trust you and because of that my that I also failed to get.

  5. Jay Z August 9, 2010 at 5:27 PM #

    Jay Z Forever!!

Leave a Reply

