Fabolous feat. Lil Wayne, “Salute”

3 Aug

This may not be the best song from Loso’s Way. (That’s “There He Go,” or “Everything, Everyday, Everywhere” or “Stay.”) But it is probably the one that will get the most play from the set without ovaries, and it’s definitely the most interesting one to me, mostly for how it flips the script on a lot of conventional thinking in hip-hop.

Get past the distinctive horns-and-drum fanfare that announces this parade down the city streets, and you get a song that has an actual arc. In the first verse, Fab announces his presence with sneering shots (“Word to the K shells in this chopper, I will p-p-p-p-pop ‘er/Make it sound like helicopters land on top of this bitch”). In the second, Wayne, he of drug addictions and a wildly creative catalog, relies almost exclusively on creative gun talk (“Bet your brains on your shirt will look like Jell-O on a napkin” is great imageryl “Fab I got ’em, and watch me give ’em an edema/I did ’em, and the tool inside my denim” plays with sounds well) to reinforce his realness.

But by the third verse, Loso’s only got “the heart of a s-s-s-s-soldier.” His “mind has gone AWOL.” He goes on to rhyme “digit stack” with “Midget Mac” and whips out “I think I need a seeing-eye dog/Come to being fly, dog, you ain’t seeing I, dog.” This is the clever Fab, the one who links himself to the relatively dovish Colin Powell and says “War to me’s a card game/Beef is just a style of cow.” He’s above the fray, smooth and aloof, content to make ladies swoon.

You almost wish he would fight.

Lyrics:

(Fabolous)
First off, I’m a motherfuckin’ G
E-N-E-R-A-L
Word to the K shells in this chopper, I will p-p-p-p-pop ‘er
Make it sound like helicopters land on top of this bitch
You want this Whopper? Come and get your beef, nigga
I’m not a boxer: I’ma be brief, nigga
We on top, I will put you underneath niggas
We the Take-Ya-Ho tribe, and I’m the chief, nigga
Your highest title, numero uno
I’m not that little pregnant white girl, but Juno (Juno)
You know anything is in a nigga reach
My dogs’ll bite you, and guess who’s a nigga leash?
I was once told by my nigga Meech
You feed a sucker he just grow to be a bigger leech (Sucka ass nigga)
So nigga every time you hear mine (What you do)
Get your hand to your hairline, general

(Lil Wayne)
Yeah, I’m in this bitch
Sendin’ champagne to my enemies
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Mu’fucka salute me)

(Lil Wayne)
Now just say hello to the captain
And I stay away from magnets ’cause the metal’s what I’m packing
Bet your brains on your shirt will look like Jell-O on a napkin
And I promise my fellows will put your fellows on a canvas
Call me Weezy, F. Baby
Young Money army, better yet navy
Fab I got ’em, and watch me give ’em an edema
I did ’em, and the tool inside my denim
I shoot everything but women and kids
Bitch nigga, stop bitchin’, it’s just how it is
Now watch me let that sexy nina kiss you by your ribs
You won’t be satisfied ’til I send a missile by your crib
Shoot you in the stomach, now you pissin’ out your ears
Hollygrove all day, bodies in the hallway
And if you come searchin’, then you findin’ out the hard way
(Unh) No matter where you from
You better recognize a real nigga when you see one
Salute me

Yeah, I’m in this bitch
Sendin’ champagne to my enemies
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Mu’fucka salute me)

(Fabolous)
At second thought, I got the heart of a s-s-s-s-soldier
T-t-t-t-told ya, I ain’t come to play y’all
My mind has gone AWOL
Find it, I will pay y’all
My money is yay tall, okay y’all
Your digit stack is Midget Mac, that means it’s gon’ stay small
Told ’em I don’t see nobody, I’m a rapping Ray Charles (I don’t see nobody)
I think I need a seeing-eye dog
Come to being fly, dog? You ain’t seeing I, dog (Okay okay okay okay)
It’s in the air like pollen now, fuck you niggas hollin’ now?
They said I been MIA? Yeah, bitch, I’m on Collins now
Leaders don’t be follin’ crowds, general like Colin Powell
War to me’s a card game, beef is just a style of cow
I’m who make the calls, so don’t make me get to dialin’ now
Nick got the cannon, yeah, and that nigga be wildin’ out
They ain’t ballin’, these niggas is foulin’ out
They ain’t throwing jabs, they just throwin’ towels out

Yeah, I’m in this bitch
Sendin’ champagne to my enemies
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me (Salute me)
Salute me
Salute or shoot, you choose mu’fucka
Bow down ’til your head touch your shoes, mu’fucka
Salute me (Mu’fucka salute me)

One Response to “Fabolous feat. Lil Wayne, “Salute””

  1. freshlikeuhhn August 4, 2009 at 8:08 AM #

    the third verse is the best one in the song

Leave a Reply

