The Breakdown: Jay Sean feat. Lil Wayne, “Down”

28 Jul

Hey, look, a up-and-coming artist on a star-making, chart-baiting song with Weezy! Never seen that before.

To the lyrics!

(Jay Sean)
Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
Even if the sky is falling down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
(Ooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh)

A strong start: A catchy hook with a rhetorical question.

You oughta know
Tonight is the night to let it go

If only Alanis had known.

Put on a show
I wanna see how you lose control

So consciously put on a show, but lose control at the same time. Got it.
That’s the entire verse. This is not promising.

So leave it behind ’cause we have a night to get away
So come on and fly with me as we make our great escape

Flying is diametrically opposed from being down. But, uh, okay, sure.

So baby don’t worry, you are my only
You won’t be lonely, even if the sky is falling down

If you need to tell someone they’re your “only,” there is cause for concern. Also, what on earth does the sky falling down have to do with loneliness? Is this on the 2012 soundtrack?

You’ll be my only, no need to worry

Reiterating that there’s no need to worry makes me worry more.

Baby are you down down down down down?

Sure.

Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own

That’s a lot of down.

Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own

I answered this already.

Even if the sky is falling down?

Oh, wait, I get it, we’re flying and the sky is falling, so you need to know if I’m okay with turbulence? No? Are you making any sense at all?

Just let it be

I’m not worried. Why would I be worried?

Come on and bring your body next to me

Body, not brain. Leave your brain elsewhere to not worry.

I’ll take you away (hey)

If you say so, Aladdin.

Turn this place into our private getaway

So, let me get this straight: You’re taking me away and then turning where we were into a private getaway? And because that wasn’t dumb enough, you’re rhyming “take me away” with “getaway”?

So leave it behind ’cause we have a night to get away

And then we’re leaving the getaway behind because you’re taking me away to get away? And you rhymed, in succession, “take me away,” “getaway,” and “get away”? Did the Black Eyed Peas write this song?

So come on and fly with me as we make our great escape
(So why don’t we run away?)

Because flying is just better than running. Unless the sky is falling down.

So baby don’t worry, you are my only
You won’t be lonely, even if the sky is falling down
You’ll be my only, no need to worry
Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
Even if the sky is falling down?

Eh. It’s a hook/chorus.

Weezy:
(Even if the sky is falling) down like she ‘posed to be

She’s supposed to be down for whatever, I think, okay, great.

She gets down low for me

That’s really banal.

Down like her temperature, ’cause to me she zero degrees

And probably zero college degrees, too, if she’s tolerating you. (Zing!)

She cold, overfreeze, I got that girl from overseas
Now she’s my Miss America, now can I be her soldier please?

Problems galore:

I’m fighting for this girl on a battlefield of love
Don’t it look like baby Cupid sent his arrows from above?

Love doesn’t rhyme with much, but love/above is really one of the laziest rhymes in English.

Don’t you ever leave the side of me, indefinitely, not probably
And honestly, I’m down like the economy
(Yeaaaaah)

Now I’m worried, and for totally different reasons.

Baby don’t worry, you are my only
You won’t be lonely, even if the sky is falling down
You’ll be my only, no need to worry
Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
Baby are you down down down down down?
Dow-ow-ow-own, dow-ow-ow-own
Even if the sky is falling down?

So much down.

I like this song, even if it’s quintessentially generic—lots of Auto-Tune, a poorly written and viral chorus, a perfunctory Lil Wayne verse, and some synths and hi-hats make it exactly what 2009 sounds like, sadly. At least it’s fun and danceable, and not quite as grating as “I Gotta Feeling.” (It’s about on par with what was basically last year’s version of this song, from Colby O’Donis.)

The video (I can’t embed it) isn’t far from average when it comes to summery party songs. Positives: The shot gliding through the ballroom at the beginning (especially because, as at 0:27, it catches a woman dancing like a woman would to a song like this); the rotating shot at the beginning of the second verse;  the color swap for Wayne’s verse; and the relatively subtle inclusion of the Cash Money logo. Negatives: The “staring in the mirror” shot is so overdone it’s not worth doing anymore; the dance moves are lacking; the sparkles on everything; shining hands and simmering roses are weird; and close-ups of Birdman.

And when will people learn that putting Weezy on your song isn’t a great idea if he’s going to son you? His eight bars here have twice the personality of the rest of the song; this happens over and over and over in music.

You really should be the best thing about your first single; if you’re not, it’s a good indication your second or third shouldn’t be heard.

In truth, this isn’t nearly as bad as the last song I broke down. It’s not as blatantly misogynist and cheaply exploitative.

But it’s stuck in my head. And I hate that.

8 Responses to “The Breakdown: Jay Sean feat. Lil Wayne, “Down””

  1. Huh September 6, 2009 at 7:26 PM #

    Jay’s worst song tbh… I prefer his old singles.

  2. madderthanthecheshire November 4, 2009 at 1:52 AM #

    I definitely enjoyed this post and your entertaining comments. I agreed with every one of your comments. This song is kind of catchy, but doesn’t exactly make sense.

  3. lolcats November 7, 2009 at 11:36 AM #

    is it just me or is it weird that he’s singing ‘You’ll be my only’ while being dancing around by and looking up loads of other hot women?

  4. Brendan November 17, 2009 at 7:02 AM #

    Excellent analysis! I must confess that I really like the catchiness of the song but what ruins it for me, is the STUPIDITY of the lyrics.

  5. julie, éric, phillipe et kim January 28, 2010 at 8:45 AM #

    criss que Jay Sean a trop l’aire fif!
    pis c’est juste une petite bitch
    pis calisse qui se la crée trop criss de pédale!
    mais le bout le Lil wayne est bon mais il sort avec Jay Sean c juste un gang de gay

  6. julie and kim January 28, 2010 at 8:52 AM #

    i love that song!! and Jay Sean is too sexy!
    the lyrics is very good and the beat is really interresting. it’s very good to listen it!
    i think this song gonna be a classic.

  7. Yeah Right March 19, 2010 at 10:27 PM #

    Could any of you do better? Or do any of you live like he does? Don’t hate. He busted his butt to get here, give him credit…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Breakdown: “I Made It (Cash Money Zeroes),” Kevin Rudolf, Jay Sean, Birdman, and Lil Wayne « The Rockabye Review - May 12, 2010

    […] that this is a reference to former Breakdown victim “Down” and the sky mention in the hook. That’s good, clever writing, right? Okay, now the […]

Leave a Reply

