Miley Cyrus, “Party In The USA”

28 Jul

IT’S MILEY.

Not much to say here: This is syrupy, slow-motion, acoustic-style electrostomp; Miley’s voice is earnest enough to carry the catchy blandness of these lyrics; I’m sure there is a glossy, pretty video with a “Fresh Prince” homage to come; it’s going to be on charts very shortly.

It’s no “See You Again.” But what is?

And, really, you can kill the disingenuous “What, me famous?” stuff. Knowing who Jay-Z and Britney are? That’s impressive for a country bumpkin like li’l ol’ Destiny Hope. (Allow me to dream that the song playing was “Big Pimpin’.”) But you’re a multimedia conglomerate. Jay-Z and Britney are in your iPhone.

And it’s your songs that are on the radio.

Lyrics:

I hopped off the plane at LAX
With a dream and my cardigan
Welcome to the land of fame, excess
Am I gonna fit in?
Jumped in a cab
Here I am for the first time
Look to my right
And I see the Hollywood sign
This is all so crazy
Everybody seems so famous

My tummy’s turning and I’m feeling kinda homesick
Too much pressure and I’m nervous
That’s when the taxi man turned on the radio
And a Jay-Z song was on
And a Jay-Z song was on
And a Jay-Z song was on

So I put my hands up
They’re playing my song
The butterflies fly away
Nodding my head like yeah
Moving my hips like yeah
I got my hands up
They’re playing my song
I know I’m gonna be okay
Yeah-eah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA

Get to the club in my taxicab
Everybody’s looking at me now
Like, “Who’s that chick that’s rockin’ kicks?
She’s gotta be from out of town”
So hard with my girls all around me
It’s definitely not a Nashville party
‘Cause all I see are stilettos
I guess I never got the memo

My tummy’s turning and I’m feeling kinda homesick
Too much pressure and I’m nervous
That’s when the DJ dropped my favorite
And a Britney song was on
And a Britney song was on
And a Britney song was on

So I put my hands up
They’re playing my song
The butterflies fly away
Nodding my head like yeah
Moving my hips like yeah
I got my hands up
They’re playing my song
I know I’m gonna be okay
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA

Feel like hopping on a flight
Back to my hometown tonight
Something stops me every time
The DJ plays me song and I feel all right

So I put my hands up
They’re playing my song
The butterflies fly away
Nodding my head like yeah
Moving my hips like yeah
I got my hands up
They’re playing my song
I know I’m gonna be okay
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA

So I put my hands up
They’re playing my song
The butterflies fly away (Butterflies flying away)
Nodding my head like yeah (Nodding my head like yeah)
Moving my hips like yeah (Moving my hips like yeah)
I got my hands up
They’re playing my song
I know I’m gonna be okay
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah
It’s a party in the USA
Yeah-ah-e-ah-e-ah (Ha ha ha)
It’s a party in the USA

4 Responses to “Miley Cyrus, “Party In The USA””

  1. zeil July 29, 2009 at 9:31 AM #

    thanks for posting the lyrics ^^

  2. Ryan July 29, 2009 at 2:57 PM #

    YOU BITCH
    THIS SONG AINT BLAND
    WHO DO YOU THIN KYOU ARE!
    YOUR WEBBY IS RUBBISH, GET SOEM FRIENDS

  3. tatag August 13, 2009 at 1:35 PM #

    woooooww very2 thanks to share :Pi always came to visit ur blog

Leave a Reply

