Hi and Hello: The Intro

31 Jan

I used to write more about pop culture when it was sort of a job.

I was a journalist, a real, living, breathing, I-can-put-journalist-on-a-resume-and-preface-it-with-student journalist while I was part of the Florida Today’s teen section, The Verge. I wrote features and columns, commentaries of all kinds, and did actual reporting now and again.

But I really enjoyed the reviews I got to do. I reviewed movies, music, books, and video games; I hated some, liked most, and loved a few.

I also learned to start thinking like a critic when it came to pop culture, and that’s something I’ve kept with me.  I was also told, by all sorts of people, that not only were my reviews enjoyable, they were something to look forward to. I’m not exactly sure how that happened, but I was more than flattered.

And then it stopped. So I’m starting again.

Now, almost two years removed from The Verge and without any dedicated to any sort of multimedia reviewing, I want to have a place to muse on what’s going on in the world of pop culture.

And that’s here.

I’m starting this with this post, and bringing along a longtime friend of mine, one of the sharpest watchers of films and snarkiest observers of pop culture I know. We’ll both be posting frequently, reviewing things or bringing them to your attention.

I just hope you all will enjoy this as much as I will.

Thanks for coming.

Leave a Reply

